The Championships, Wimbledon


Who: Founded by members of the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club.

What: The oldest tennis tournament in the world, one of the four Grand Slams.

Where: Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom.

Why: Widely considered the most prestigious tennis tournament in the world.

When: Founded in 1877.

“I’d won the Australian Open twice, but winning Wimbledon takes something special.” – Stefan Edberg

The Championships, Wimbledon is a tennis tournament held annually at the All England Club in Wimbledon London in late June to early July. It is the only Grand Slam still played on the original surface of grass (hence the name ‘lawn tennis’), and maintains strict traditions, including the wearing of white by competitors, Royal patronage and strawberries and cream. As of the 2013 Championships, the prize money for both men and women’s singles was £1,600,000 for the winner and £800,000 for the finalist, going down to £23,500 for first round losers. Wimbledon is also the only Grand Slam not to feature sponsor advertising around the courts. Martina Navratilova holds the record of most Ladies’ Singles titles with nine wins, with Wiliam Renshaw, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer sharing the record for most Gentleman’s Singles titles at 7 apiece. It also holds the record for the longest match in tennis history, between John Isner and Nicholas Mahut, which clocked up an exhausting 11 hours and five minutes.

Further Reading:


2 thoughts on “The Championships, Wimbledon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s